What I Did: MenuShade Replacement Icon

In this blog I’ve written about the uncluttered desktop philosphy I use before. The application I use to hide the menu bar is called, plainly enough, “MenuShade“.

There are two problems that I have with MenuShade:
1) It’s always in the dock when it’s running.
2) The icon looks strange next to my other dock icons.

So I threw together a replacement icon using some artwork that I had done for a client but was ultimately rejected. While my icon does not really express the “shade” metaphor in quite the same way as the original I think it looks nice in the dock.

Download (Macintosh): PP-MenuShade.dmg

Copyright © 2006 Gary W. Gehiere. All rights reserved. Please do not redistribute or hot link to the icons and files here.

One Response to What I Did: MenuShade Replacement Icon

  1. iynque says:

    You can just use a freeware program called Dockless to make it run without being in the dock.

Leave a Reply

